In 2009 Borders Textile Towerhouse opened, celebrating the Borders’ textile industry. Garments, artefacts and photographs on display bring to life over 200 years of tradition and innovation in the local knitwear and tweed industries. Changing exhibitions showcase the best of the Scottish textile artists, historical and contemporary costume, fashion and design. There is a programme of regular events, rooms available for hire and gift shop on site.
The museum is the oldest building in Hawick. The original defensive tower was built in the mid-1500s by Sir James Douglas of Drumlanrig, Baron of Hawick. Anne, Duchess of Monmouth and Buccleuch extended the tower in the 18th century, turning it into a grand and comfortable home. In 1773 it became the Tower Inn and for the next 200 years it was an inn, or hotel, prominent in the social and commercial life of the town.